Pour les coureurs…

Aller Retour

Avant la course…

 

Les informations d’avant-départ visent à vous aider à bien préparer votre aventure de course en Tanzanie. Lisez les attentivement car il y a beaucoup de conseils et d’informations.

Même si nous essayons d’y apporter un maximum de réponses, il nous est possible d’oublier des solutions à vos propres questions. Si c’est le cas, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter par téléphone ou par e-mail.

A emporter: vêtements et équipements
La liste ci dessous n’est pas exhaustive mais comprend les articles essentiels dont vous avez besoin pour courir en Tanzanie. Ajustez la quantité à la durée de votre séjour (8 jours de course et 3 jours à Mbahe Farm avant et après le Stage Run).

  • Sac de couchage conçu pour dormir à des températures proches de 5°celsius (possibilité de le louer pour $30)
  • Gourdes ou une poche à eau
  • Un sac à dos pour vos affaires pour la journée
  • Vêtements de course selon vos préférences
  • Manteau de pluie/K-way
  • Pantalons de pluie/étanches
  • 2 paires de chaussures (pour sécher une paire si nécessaire)
  • Une paire de chaussettes pour chaque jour de course
  • Une paire de chaussures confortable (au campement)
  • Des vêtements décontractés (au campement)
  • Casquette ou chapeau avec rebords
  • Lunettes de soleil contre les UV
  • Bandana ou Buff
  • Frontale et piles de rechange
  • Savon, petite éponge pour la toilette et serviette à séchage rapide
  • Un petit tube de lessive liquide à la main (il n’y a pas d’accès à un service de blanchisserie pendant la course)
A emporter : trousse de premier secours
Chaque coureur doit emporter son propre petit kit pour une utilisation personnelle. Votre propre expérience et vos habitudes vous guideront dans vos choix. Certains articles sont sur ordonnance, prévoyez-en suffisamment pour votre séjour.

  • Gel lubrifiant BodyGlide (baume de protection de la peau) ou NOK Akileine, protection contre les ampoules et tout autre baume/crème pour vous aider à prévenir les irritations, frottements et ampoules.
  • Crème solaire
  • Baume pour les lèvres avec protection solaire
  • Anti-Moustique
  • Aspirine, Ibuprofene, Doliprane pour les petites douleurs et maux de tête
  • Antibiotiques pour traiter une infection
  • Médicaments pour les maux de ventre
  • Crème antibiotique pour les coupures, piqures d’insectes, ou irritations
  • Crème hydrocortisone pour les démangeaisons (vérifiez la sensibilité au soleil)
  • Pansements de toutes tailles
  • Lingettes
  • Lunettes de vue pour les porteurs de lentilles
  • Serviettes hygiéniques pour les femmes
A emporter : Snacks/Boissons/compléments alimentaires
  • Gels, barres et snacks énergétiques (suffisamment pour 2000 calories par jour)
  • Boissons de sport énergétiques (électrolytes)
  • Chlorure de sodium ou autre compléments alimentaires selon vos besoins
  • Comprimés d’iode ou votre système de filtration d’eau personnel
Restrictions alimentaires et demandes spécifiques
Nous tenons compte, durant votre séjour, de vos restrictions alimentaires (végétarien, végétalien, sans gluten…) notées sur votre formulaire d’enregistrement. N’hésitez pas à en discuter avec votre interlocuteur avant votre arrivée en Tanzanie et une fois sur place à votre hôte ou chef cuisinier pour être sûr que l’information soit bien prise en compte.
Passeport et visa
Un passeport et un visa sont demandés à la majorité des voyageurs pour entrer en Tanzanie. Votre passeport doit être encore valide plus de 6 mois après la date de votre retour.

Le Visa est obligatoire et peut être obtenu à l’arrivée aux aéroports internationaux et aux frontières. Comptez $50 par personne en espèces (pour les Français et Européens) en US dollars. Vous pouvez aussi vous le procurer à l’avance dans l’ambassade tanzanienne de votre pays. Votre billet retour peut vous être demandé à la douane.

Assurance voyage
Nous vous recommandons vivement de souscrire à une assurance, au moins deux semaines avant votre séjour, pour vous protéger contre : annulation, maladie, blessure ou vol. Pensez aussi à vérifier que votre assurance santé prenne en charge les services médicaux à l’étranger.

N’oubliez pas de transporter avec vous tous les documents relatifs à votre assurance voyage ainsi que les numéros de téléphone d’urgence. Si vous souscrivez à une assurance médicale internationale ou une assurance d’évacuation internationale, nous vous demandons d’en informer SENE et de fournir, avant votre départ, les informations suivantes : nom de la compagnie d’assurance, numéro de contrat, coordonnées du plateau d’assistance. Nous les gardons précieusement en cas de besoin.

Monnaie
1 Euro = environ 2,400 Tsh. (2016)
Il peut être utile d’avoir quelques shillings sur soi pour les achats de souvenirs, cartes postales, timbres, boissons, pourboires ou autres petites dépenses.

Des distributeurs d’argent sont disponibles dans toutes les grandes villes pour retirer des Shillings directement de votre compte bancaire. L’échange de devises peut être effectué à votre arrivée à l’aéroport du Kilimandjaro, banque locale, grands hôtels et bureaux de change. Emportez des billets neufs et non abimés pour éviter le refus.

Paludisme
Un risque réel existe en Tanzanie à moins de 1800m à cause d’un nombre élevé d’anophèles (type de moustiques) transportant le parasite.

Un traitement antipaludéen est recommandé. Consultez un médecin pour plus de précisions. Veillez à vous protéger contre les piqûres de moustiques et de mouches tsé-tsé avec des répulsifs, moustiquaires et des vêtements couvrant bras et jambes.

Durant la course…

 

Une journée typique du Kilimandjaro Stage Run commence au lever du soleil avec une tasse de café ou de thé servie dans votre tente. Le petit déjeuner est composé de fruits frais, tranches de pain, porridge, œufs, bacon, thé, café et chocolat chaud. Il est dressé dans la tente principale à 7h. Vous avez le temps de ranger votre sac de couchage et votre bagage avant leur transfert au prochain campement, de rassembler vos affaires pour votre journée de course incluant vos propres provisions énergétiques (un minimum de 2000 calories) et le pique nique préparé pour vous tous les matins. Avant de partir vers 8h, réunion autour de la carte et dernier petit briefing sur la journée de course.

Vous transportez votre boisson et vos provisions pendant la course. Un véhicule de support vous ravitaille en eau (de bouteille ou filtrée). Les distances entre les arrêts peuvent être irrégulières. Elles dépendent de l’accès aux routes. Le rendez-vous n’est donc pas toujours garanti.

Hébergements

Les coureurs passent deux nuits dans un cadre superbe et tranquille aux Cottages de Mbahe Farm ; En début de séjour, pour une préparation à la course et après 8 jours de grandes foulées pour un repos bien mérité.

Durant la course, les campements sont installés par notre équipe et des repas nutritifs sont préparés par des cuisiniers spécialisés sous tente tanzanienne.

L’une des nuits a lieu dans un camping avec douches chaudes et toilettes disponibles. Les autres campements sont situés sur le terrain d’écoles primaires ou dans la nature avec de l’eau chaude pour un rapide nettoyage à l’éponge et des toilettes portables avec système biodégradable.

Une nuit a lieu à Simba Farm, un petit gite avec douches chaudes et un repas complet.

Météo et vêtements adéquats
Les nuits et matinées sont fraiches, particulièrement en montagne avec la brume matinale. Les journées sont plus chaudes, le soleil peut être assez intense. En altitude, la présence des nuages peut faire varier la température. Elle devient devient parfaite pour courir en short et t-shirt mais par prudence apportez des vêtements pour toutes les conditions météorologiques.

Par respect pour les communautés, nous vous demandons de toujours porter votre tee-shirt.

Etat des sentiers
Les chemins peuvent être étroits, accidentés avec des pierres et des racines d’arbres, glissants quand ils sont mouillés. Attendez-vous et préparez-vous à tout type de terrain. Le parcours est composé de sections très pentues qui exigent de marcher, même pour les coureurs les plus entrainés.
Hydratation et Electrolyte
Vos besoins en eau diffèrent entre chaque coureur et certaines journées de course sont plus chaudes que d’autres demandant plus d’hydratation. En moyenne, comptez entre ¼ et ¾ de litre de liquide (eau ou boisson pour le sport) par heure.

Le plus important est d’établir un bon équilibre en électrolyte pour éviter les crampes, un excès de prise ou perte de poids et de maintenir la capacité à absorber et traiter les liquides. Votre corps perd environ 1000mg de sodium par heure en courant. Même si vous avez emmagasiné des réserves de sodium, vous avez besoin de prendre un complément pour maintenir un bon niveau d’électrolyte pendant la course.

Lors de votre entrainement, vous devez expérimenter différentes stratégies afin de déterminer la quantité de liquide et d’électrolyte qui fonctionne pour vous.

Energie pour votre corps
Vous allez avoir des périodes pendant lesquels l’énergie vous lâchera (vous vous sentirez à « plat » ou épuisé). Cet état est dû au manque de sucre dans le sang et peut être soigné en mangeant et en buvant suffisamment. Vous devez emporter avec vous des gels, barres ou autres compléments nutritionnels que vous aimez, efficaces pour vous. Vous avez besoin de 2000 calories par jour.

Chaque matin, nous vous proposons des sandwiches, fruits, légumes frais et autres aliments nutritifs à emporter dans votre sac. Ils s’ajouteront aux snacks que vous avez amenés pour le KSR. Un équilibre est à trouver entre des aliments qui vous donnent un coup de fouée mais à digestion rapide et des sucres lents. La combinaison entre les deux avec le petit déjeuner et le diner au campement aident à vous maintenir en bonne forme pour toute la durée de la course.

Energie pour vous appareils électroniques
Nous avons, au campement, des chargeurs solaires pour vos montres GPS, téléphones, batteries ou autres appareils électroniques. Notez bien que cette ressource est limitée et dépend de la quantité de soleil chaque jour. Essayez de limiter l’utilisation de vos appareils et ne les charger que si cela est nécessaire afin que tout le monde puisse en profiter.

Quand l’électricité du réseau national est accessible, la Tanzanie utilise un voltage de 230V avec des prises du type Anglaise (à 3 dents). Apportez un transformateur et un adaptateur si besoin.

Le groupe
Vous courez en petits groupes suivant votre rythme. Chaque groupe est accompagné d’un guide tanzanien. Personne ne court seul. Veillez à garder toujours un œil sur votre équipe. Il est assez facile de se perdre et de se blesser dans cet environnement reculé.
Voiture de ravitaillement
Une voiture rejoint les coureurs à différentes intersections. L’heure et la distance entre les points de rencontre peuvent variées en fonction de l’isolement du sentier et du rythme de course du groupe. Les guides vous informent du lieu possible de rendez-vous.

Si vous faites partie du groupe le plus rapide, il est possible de ne pas croiser la voiture certains jours, il vous faudra donc être autonome (incluant la purification de l’eau). Tout le monde doit transporter ce dont il a besoin pour sa journée de course (en plus de l’eau et snacks, vous devez avoir avec vous de la crème solaire, un K-way…). Vos autres affaires vous attendent au campement.

Obscurité
Par prudence apportez une frontale. Dans le cas de longues journées de course, le groupe le moins rapide peut finir à la nuit tombée.
Le Swahili
Le Swahili est la langue nationale parlée par tous les Tanzaniens (en plus de leur dialecte). La majorité d’entre eux connaît quelques mots d’anglais et d’autres parlent plus couramment. Tous les guides et chauffeurs de SENE parlent anglais.
Apprendre quelques mots de Swahili peut vous permettre de créer plus facilement des liens avec la population locale.
Ci-dessous les mots les plus courants :

Jambo!   Bonjour!   (Reponse: Jambo)
Asante.   Merci.

Nimechoka.   Je suis fatigué(e)
Sijachoka.   Je ne suis pas fatigué(e)
Nina nguvu kama tembo.  Je suis aussi fort qu’un éléphant.

Mbali gani?  C’est encore loin ?
Mbali.   Loin.
Sio mbali.   Pas loin. (Vous l ‘entendrez souvent de la part de vos guides!)

Amusez-vous!
N’oubliez pas que le Kilimandjaro Stage Run n’est pas une compétition, mais une course pour explorer, vivre une aventure hors du commun, rencontrer de nouveaux amis et dépasser vos limites !

Plus vous êtes préparés et entrainés avant votre arrivée en Tanzanie, plus vous profiterez des superbes sentiers qui entourent le Kilimandjaro !

Après la course…

 

La journée de course se termine en arrivant au campement (généralement entre 14h et 18h) déjà installé par notre équipe. Des boissons chaudes et des snacks vous attendent dans la tente principale. Dans les campements sans commodités, une bassine remplie d’eau chaude est fournie à chaque coureur pour une petite toilette à l’éponge.
Un repas complet cuisiné par notre chef expérimenté est servi vers 19h. Le dîner nous donne l’occasion de discuter de la course du lendemain.
Les tentes
Nous utilisons de grandes tentes dans lesquelles vous pouvez tenir debout et ranger toutes vos affaires. Deux coureurs s’en partagent une. Elles sont montées par notre équipe avant votre arrivée, équipées d’un matelas épais et d’un oreiller pour une nuit de sommeil confortable. Reposez-vous, relaxez-vous et récupérez de votre journée de course après une bonne douche dans les campements offrant cette commodité ou une petite toilette à l’éponge à l’aide d’une bassine d’eau chaude.
Le linge
Il n’y a pas d’accès à un service de blanchisserie pendant la course. Nous vous recommandons d’apporter un petit tube de lessive liquide pour un lavage à la main ainsi qu’une petite corde pour étendre votre linge à l’intérieur ou à l’extérieur de votre tente suivant le temps. Il n’est pas toujours possible de bien sécher vos affaires. Emportez du surplus pour chaque jour de course.
Les petites blessures
Même pour les coureurs les plus expérimentés, les ampoules sont un problème constant difficile à soigner dû aux journées consécutives de course. La terre ou la poussière peuvent pénétrer dans vos chaussures – même pour ceux qui portent des guêtres. Combinées à la sueur ou l’eau des rivières traversées, ce phénomène risque de multiplier l’apparition des ampoules. Pour les prévenir, assurez vous que vos chaussures de course soient à votre taille et déjà « cassées ». Pendant votre entraînement testez les (et vos chaussettes) et essayez différentes techniques de prévention, en protégeant les zones de frottement avec, par exemple, une bande ou un pansement ou en appliquant une pommade adéquate.

Si vous pensez avoir besoin de changer de chaussures ou chaussettes pendant votre journée de course, assurez vous de garder une paire supplémentaire dans votre sac laissé dans le véhicule de support.

For KSR Runners…

Go Back

Before the Run…

 

The following pre-departure information for KSR runners is designed to help prepare you for your running adventure in Tanzania. Please read it carefully as there is much information here, including items you should bring (clothing and gear, first aid kit, and snacks).

Although we have tried to be as comprehensive as possible, we may have missed answering a question or two that you might have. If so, please don’t hesitate to contact us by phone or email.

To Bring: Clothing and Gear
The following is not a comprehensive packing list, but includes particular items we suggest for running in Tanzania. Bring enough for the 8-day run plus days before and after at the Mbahe Village cottages.

  • Sleeping bag rated to 40° Fahrenheit / 5° Celsius (rental bag available for $30)
  • Water bottles and light pack/fanny pack or hydration pack to carry your daily needs
  • Running clothing according to your preference
  • Rain jacket
  • Running tights or rain pants
  • 2 pairs running shoes (so 1 pair can dry, if necessary)
  • A pair of socks for each day
  • Comfortable shoes for camp
  • Casual clothing for camp
  • Hat with brim
  • Sunglasses that block UV rays
  • Bandana
  • Headlamp and spare batteries
  • Soap and small quick-drying towel and washcloth
  • Small container of liquid soap for hand laundry and rope for hang drying (there is no access to laundry services during the run)
To Bring: Personal First Aid Kit
Every runner should bring a small kit for personal use. Your own experience and preferences will influence your choices. Some items require a prescription. Bring enough for the entire trip.

  • Bodyglide lubricant, blister pads, moleskin or other lubricants and protection to help prevent chafing and blisters
  • Sunscreen (SPF 30 or higher)
  • Lip balm with sunscreen
  • Insect repellent
  • Aspirin, Ibuprofen or Tylenol for mild pain or headache
  • Oral antibiotic (e.g. Cipro)
  • Pepto Bismol tablets or similar, for stomach problems
  • Topical antibiotic for cuts, bites or sores
  • Hydrocortisone cream for itching (check for sun sensitivity)
  • Band aids, assorted
  • Hand wipes or baby wipes
  • Contact lens wearers should also bring a pair of glasses
  • Feminine protection
To Bring: Snacks/Drinks/Supplements
  • Energy snacks, bars, and gels (enough for 2,000 calories/day)
  • Powdered sports drinks (electrolyte replacement)
  • Sodium tablets and other supplements according to your needs
  • Iodine tablets or personal portable water filtration system
Dietary Restrictions/Requests
On your adventure registration you should have noted any dietary restrictions or preferences. We try to accommodate all dietary requests (vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free, etc.), but may need your assistance with special food items. Please discuss any dietary limitations with our planning team before your arrival in Tanzania.

We include diet information on all our trip detail forms used by the trip leader, but we suggest you also discuss them with the host or chef at each destination, to make sure they have received the information as well.

Passport and visa
A passport and visa are required for most visitors entering Tanzania (please check your individual country requirements). Your passport must be valid for at least 6 months beyond your intended stay.

Visas can be obtained in advance through the Tanzanian embassy or mission in your country or may be purchased upon arrival at international airports and border crossings in Tanzania (USD cash only). Cost of a visa is US$50 for most visitors, though for US citizens it is US$100. Tickets and documents for return or onward travel may also be required.

Travel Insurance
We strongly recommend all travelers purchase insurance within two weeks of booking a trip to protect against cancellation, illness, injury, or theft. Also check with your health insurance provider about your coverage for medical services incurred abroad.

Remember to carry all insurance documents and emergency numbers with you during your trip.  If you do purchase international medical insurance or international evacuation insurance please inform us with the details (carrier, plan type, and policy number) so we will have that in our records in case of need.

Currency Exchange
The Tanzania shilling exchanges at the approximate rates of US$1=2200 TSh and €1=2400 TSh (2016). It is convenient to have some Tanzania shillings for souvenirs, drinks, tips, and other miscellaneous expenses.

ATMs are available in all cities and large towns, to draw shillings directly from your account. Currency exchange may also be done upon arrival at the Kilimanjaro International Airport, large hotels, local banks, and bureaux de change. Bring newer, crisp bills to avoid exchange problems.

Malaria
Malaria risk exists in Tanzania at elevations below 1800 meters due to the prevalence of anopheles mosquitoes that can carry the malaria parasite.

Common malaria prophylaxes include mefloquine (Lariam), atovaquone/proguanil (Malarone), doxycycline, and primaquine. In addition to medicine we suggest you use insect repellent and wear long sleeves and trousers in the evening, when mosquitoes are most active.

For complete malaria prevention advice, please consult your physician or a travel health specialist.

During the Run…

 

A typical day on the Kilimanjaro Stage Run begins at sunrise with tea or coffee delivered to your tent. A full breakfast, consisting of fresh fruit, toast and breads, porridge, eggs, bacon, tea, coffee, and cocoa, is served in the dining tent at 7am. You will have time to pack up your sleeping bag and gear for transfer to the next camp and to prepare your running daypack with a minimum of 2,000 calories of snacks from your own supply and from the snack and water table, set up each morning. We gather for a brief review of the day and final check of the map before departure around 8am.

During the run day you carry your own water and snacks. We have a support vehicle that meets runners at irregular aid stops (distance between stops varies depending on road access, and meetings are never guaranteed). At the support vehicle you may refill water bottles and hydration packs and replenish your snacks. All water is bottled or filtered.

Accommodations
  • Two nights before and one night after the run included at SENE’s private guest cottages on Simon’s Mbahe Village Farm.  Full board with drinks.
  • During the run, prepared camps with sumptuous healthy meals cooked by experienced safari chefs.  One night is at a campground with hot water showers and flush toilets.  Other nights are on school grounds or wilderness camps with hot water for sponge baths and private toilet tents with bio-degradable waste system.
  • One run night is at the Simba Farm guest rooms with private bathrooms and farm meals.
Weather and what to wear
Nights and mornings are cool, particularly in mountainous areas where mornings can be quite misty. Days are warm to hot and the sun may be harsh at times. At elevation, cloud cover may moderate the heat to make for a comfortable running temperature in t-shirt and shorts. Bring clothing for all conditions, as we run in any weather unless trails are impassible.

Out of respect for communities through which we run, we require that shirts be worn at all times (singlets are okay; jog-bra is not).

Trail Conditions
Trails can be narrow and rugged, with rocks and roots, and slippery when wet.  Expect and be prepared for all kinds of conditions.  The route includes many extremely steep sections, requiring a significant amount of walking even by the strongest runners.
Hydration and Electrolytes
Each person’s hydration needs are different and some days of the run are hotter than others, requiring more fluid replacement. On average, count on needing between one quarter to three quarters of a liter of fluids (water or sports drink) per hour. This varies by conditions and your own body’s demands.

Vitally important is maintaining the proper electrolyte balance to avoid cramps, excessive weight gain or loss, and maintaining the ability to absorb and process fluids.  Your body loses up to 1000mg of sodium per hour while running.  Although your body has stored reserves, you will need to use some sort of sodium supplement during the run to maintain proper electrolyte levels.

It is important that you experiment in training with electrolyte and fluid replacement strategies to determine in advance what works for you.

Energy (for your body)
During the running day you will encounter periods where you have little energy (feeling “flat” or “wiped out”). This is normally due to low blood sugar and can be resolved through eating and drinking. For this reason, you should carry with you gels, bars, and other nutrients that you find good-tasting and effective for you. You will need 2,000 calories of snacks every day during the run.

Each morning you will have the opportunity to add sandwiches, fresh fruits and vegetables, and other nutrient-rich long-lasting food sources to put in your running pack. This supplements the snacks that you bring for yourself.  Think in terms of balancing quick energy (simple sugars) that offer a needed jolt, but are quickly consumed by your body, with the longer-lasting food sources.  This combination of short and long-term energy, in concert with the hearty breakfasts and dinners at camp, will help sustain you during the day and over the multiple days of running.

Energy (for your devices)
We have solar-powered charging stations at camp to re-charge GPS watches, phones, battery packs, and other small electronic devices.  Please note that supply is limited and may vary from day to day depending on the amount of sunlight.  Please limit your use and charge only when necessary so that others may do the same.

Where electricity from the power grid is available, Tanzania uses 230 voltage AC with outlets that accommodate three-prong UK style plugs.  Bring a converter and adapter plug as needed.

Group running
We run in small groups by pace, each with a Tanzanian group leader.  Nobody runs alone. You are required to maintain contact with your group, as the trail can be confusing and injury and exposure are distinct possibilities in this remote setting.
Support Vehicle
The support vehicle meets runners at periodic road crossings. Time and distances vary between meetings points, depending on the remoteness of the trail on any given day and the pace of the group. Guides can advise you on likely meeting spots.

If you are in a faster group you may not meet the vehicle on some days, so you may need to be self-supporting (including water purifying needs).  Everyone should carry what they need for the running day (in addition to water and snacks, you should have sunscreen, rain jacket, etc.).  All your other clothing and gear is transported to camp.

Darkness
Days are planned to avoid running in the dark, but bring a head lamp on long days as slow groups may finish after dusk.
Swahili
Swahili is the national language spoken by all Tanzanians (in addition to their tribal language).  Most people also know a few words of English and some are more conversant.  All SENE guides and drivers are fluent in English.  It will be helpful for you to learn a few words of Swahili, and will be much appreciated by the people you meet.  These will get you started and may be useful during the run:

Jambo!   Hello!   (Response:  Jambo)
Asante.   Thank you.

Nimechoka.   I am tired.
Sijachoka.   I am not yet tired.
Nina nguvu kama tembo.  I’m as strong as an elephant.

Mbali gani?  How much farther?
Mbali.   Far.
Sio mbali.   Not far.  (KSR guides say this a lot!)

Have Fun!
Enjoy yourself!  Remember that the KSR is not a race, but a fun run for exploration, adventure, camaraderie, and challenging your limits, while running with others in a small group.  The better physically and mentally prepared you are before coming to Tanzania, the more fun you will have on the trails around Kilimanjaro!

After the Run…

 

The running day ends with arrival at camp (usually between 2pm and 6pm), set up in advance by the camp crew, along with waiting drinks and snacks in the dining tent. At camps without shower facilities a basin of warm water will be prepared for each runner for a sponge bath. A nutritious and substantial dinner is prepared by our experienced mountain chefs and served around 7pm. At dinner there is an evening briefing about the following day’s route and schedule.
Tents
We use large step-in car-camping tents shared by two runners, with plenty of room for all your gear.  Tents are set up in advance by our camp crew, with extra thick camping pads for a comfortable night’s sleep.  Rest, relax, recover, and refresh with a shower, where available, or a sponge bath with a warm basin of water.
Laundry
There is no access to laundry services during the run, so we recommend you bring a small container of liquid soap for hand laundry and rope for hanging clothes inside or outside your tent.
Blisters
Even for the most experienced trail runners, blisters are a constant problem that can be exacerbated with each new day’s run. You should expect that the trail grit and dust will enter your shoes and socks – even if you wear trail gaiters. When the dirt is combined with sweat from your body and water from stream crossings you may experience blisters.  To help prevent blisters, make sure your running shoes fit your feet properly and are well broken in.  During training, in addition to testing your shoes (and socks), experiment with blister prevention techniques, such as protecting areas of friction with tape or lathering them with ointments.

If you think that you may want to change socks or shoes during the day, make sure to have extra pairs in the bag that goes with the support vehicle.