Histoire du Kilimanjaro Stage Run

Simon Mtuy a toujours rêvé de montrer aux coureurs du monde entier les magnifiques sentiers qui sillonnent les pentes basses du Kilimandjaro. Il crée Le KILIMANJARO STAGE RUN.

Simon est né dans la région du Kilimandjaro et court depuis qu’il a appris à marcher. Il a toujours aimé découvrir de nouveaux parcours, que ce soit autour de son village d’enfance ou dans les pays lointains qu’il a visités. Il apprécie l’excitation que lui procure chaque course et souhaite que d’autres sportifs ressentent les mêmes sensations sur les trails du Kilimandjaro. Pour Simon, la Tanzanie a beaucoup à offrir : Pas seulement les parcs de safari, la magnifique ile de Zanzibar, le sommet du Kilimandjaro (toit de l’Afrique), mais aussi de nombreux endroits inexplorés, à parcourir à pied sans oublier la présence d’une population riche en traditions qui vit et travaille dans ces lieux reculés.

Pendant plusieurs années, Simon a parcouru de nombreux kilomètres, a mangé une grande quantité de patates douces avec un seul but en tête : Partager avec d’autres les trésors naturels de son pays en allant à la recherche des plus beaux sentiers autour de la montagne, là où les villages bordent la forêt. En 2012, il accueille le premier groupe de coureurs internationaux dont Krissy Moehl,(grande sportive américaine professionnelle) sur un parcours de 260km. Son objectif était de leur montrer une Tanzanie unique et authentique ignorée des nombreux touristes qui visitent son pays chaque année. Les premiers participants se sont sentis chanceux et émerveillés par cette toute nouvelle expérience, comme le montre le film “Mountain of Greatness”. Fort de ce succès, Simon et son équipe ont poursuivi chaque année l’accueil d’un petit nombre de coureurs venus du monde entier pour vivre une aventure unique.

A chaque édition du KSR, plusieurs athlètes tanzaniens accompagnent Simon et les participants durant la course. Certains partent avant le groupe pour marquer le parcours de rubans pendant que d’autres restent avec le groupe pour les encourager et les guider. Aucun ne courent seuls. Ainsi se crée rapidement une ambiance conviviale au sein du groupe permettant à Simon et aux guides tanzaniens de partager leur amour pour ce pays.

On the Kilimanjaro Stage Run . . .

  • Percent of Tanzanian school children who shout Jambo! ... ( 95% )
  • Percent of time that the summit of Kilimanjaro is visible ... ( 50% )
  • Chance that you will be chased by a lion ... ( .0001% )
  • Ratio of amazing experiences/kilometer ... ( 100% )

Guides

Simon Mtuy
Head Guide
Iddi Kenja
Assistant Guide
|
Manase Lyimo
Assistant Guide
|

Background

The Kilimanjaro Stage Run grew out of Simon Mtuy’s dream…

…to introduce runners from all over the world to the wonderful trails that crisscross the lower slopes of Kilimanjaro.

Simon was born on the slopes of Kilimanjaro and has been running since he learned to walk.  He has always enjoyed discovering new adventures down the trail, whether in his home village or in far-flung destinations he has traveled around the world.  He loves the excitement he feels when discovering the world through running and wants others to feel that same excitement on his own Kilimanjaro trails.  To Simon, Tanzania’s assets include not only the famous safari parks known worldwide, the exotic island of Zanzibar, and the summit of Kilimanjaro (The Roof of Africa), but also the many off-the-beaten-path places explorable only on foot and the welcoming Tanzanian people who live and work there.

After years of running the trails in training and numerous sweet potato-fueled scouting expeditions to find the most enjoyable routes around the mountain where the farms and villages meet the rain forest, Simon in 2012 brought the first group of international runners, including American professional Krissy Moehl, to share his dream.  His goal was to show them a different and authentic Tanzania unseen by the many tourists visiting his country.  Those first participants felt fortunate and awed by the experience, as documented in the film Mountain of Greatness.  From that initial success, every year Simon and his team of trail running guides have welcomed small numbers of fortunate runners from all over the world to experience the Kilimanjaro Stage Run themselves.

 

The KSR crew

On every KSR, several Tanzanian athletes accompany Simon and the participants throughout the run.  Some set off early to mark the course each day, while others stay with the group to encourage and guide each participant throughout the route, so that no runners run alone, even if lost in their own thoughts while enjoying the majesty around them.  This establishes a sense of camaraderie and allows Simon and the Tanzanian guides, all of whom speak English, to better share the country that they love so much.

On the Kilimanjaro Stage Run . . .

  • Percent of Tanzanian school children who shout Jambo! ... ( 95% )
  • Percent of time that the summit of Kilimanjaro is visible ... ( 50% )
  • Chance that you will be chased by a lion ... ( .0001% )
  • Ratio of amazing experiences/kilometer ... ( 100% )

Guides

Simon Mtuy
Head Guide
Iddi Kenja
Assistant Guide
|
Manase Lyimo
Assistant Guide
|